A little bit better

Yesterday I had a good day.  It was nice to have a good day because over the past few weeks they had been few and far between.  Finally, yesterday it changed.  I started the day with a nice walk outside and then took care of some errands before I went to work.

Work was fine, it usually is.  It’s my personal time that is always the issue.  That is when I struggle with motivation.  The simple fact that I took care of some of the errands made a big difference.  I also think that the beginning of the day walk is a very good thing.  I might have to try and do that more.

I get done with work late in the evening and I’ve been starting to hang out at the bar across the street  more often.  I live in a small town and it’s really the only place I can socialize.  Being in the bar does not seem to be an issue in terms of temptation so it’s been ok.  I just drink my Ginger Ale.

What I have been doing is beginning to experiment and practice normal socializing skills.  I realize now that when I was drinking I actually did not socialize very much.  I knew who most of the other locals were who hung out there every night, but I never sat down and talked with them face to face.  Now I am purposely forcing myself to talk with everyone there.

This is different for me.  I’ve never been outgoing.  I can tell that it is already working.  Instead of just being a lump sitting on a stool I am now an integral part of the “regulars”.  People don’t just know my name now.  They really know who I am.  It’s been fun!  And then when a stranger comes into the bar I enjoy going over, introducing myself, and getting to know them.  That is soooo not like the old me 🙂

So, a lot of things are going well.  I’m not drinking.  I’ve been interacting more socially instead of hiding, and I feel good about what I’m doing.

The only area I need to keep working hard on is achieving my personal goals.  This is where motivation and using my spare time come into play.  This area is still difficult.  I have dreams of all these tasks I wish to work on during my non work time and I rarely seem to dig into them.  I’m going to start easy and just try to work on something small each day to get me into the groove.  Just like yesterday when I took care of a few simple tasks and my whole day was better.

Time to wrap up this post.  I’m going to go out for a walk.  Later I will head back down to the lake for the weekend.  Most likely I will be staying at the lake almost every weekend now.  It’s close to my job so I save a couple trips back into town.

– BST

2 comments
  1. What a great way to journey through sobriety. It looks like you’re off to a good start. Hoping you find the blogosphere as wonderful as many of us do. There are some extraordinary people blogging. It is an invaluable part of my sobriety. (Thanks for visiting Sober Identity too)

    • The sober blogging community has been a life saver. Last time I attempted sobriety I went to AA and it just didn’t work for me. When I decided to stop drinking this time I was desperate for an alternative. On my second day of sobriety I discovered a website called The Fix. DDG had an article on there about sober blogging. From there I found all the awesome blogs, and that very same night started my own.

      I’m into Website development and I’m a total technology and Internet geek. Finding an online version of a support group has been a perfect fit for me. I absolutely love it! I also enjoy writing my own blog. It’s a great form of therapy.

      This is the first time that sobriety has felt like something I can actually do! I’m on day 46 and this is longer than I have ever gone before.

Leave a Reply

Sober Identity

Sober Identity #Life Coach #The 50+ Years #Striving #Thriving #38-Empowering Affirmations #"Emerge: Growing From Addiction-Starter's Guide" #AfterRehabCoaching #Motivate

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Running on Sober

This blog is on permanent hiatus, thank you for your support.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

thisreclamation

battle with the beast

Sunny Sanguinity

Thoughts on Travel, Expat Life, Sobriety, Child Abuse Recovery & More

Rockdweller's Blog

Sober since December 13th 2011

New Sober Life

Therapy for an alcoholic

Mrs D Is Going Without

Therapy for an alcoholic

UnPickled Blog

How I Secretly Quit My Secret Habit of Secretly Drinking

Soberbia

Therapy for an alcoholic

Learning not to suck at life

A journey through sobriety and other addictions

God Walked Into This Bar

Therapy for an alcoholic

Drunky Drunk Girl

A blog about getting sober

